So here are some bills that have been proposed in the past month in the state level, here in CA.
Keep in mind I'm no expert, and encourage criticism.
Senate Bill 47
Again
introduced by state Senator Leland Yee, requires the
registration of most semi-automatic centerfire rifles with detachable
magazines sold between January 2001 to December 2013 and bans tools
("bullet button") used to detach and replace magazines from
semi-automatic rifles.
----Now this one here, requires
registration, something that already is in place in this controlling
state. This first part is put to help the second part mentioned pass.
Banning the “Bullet Button” means that you would have to either
weld your magazine to your rifle, or fix it permanently to the
firearm. This would force you to almost completely disassemble the
firearm for every reload. The bullet button(currently legal) is a
magazine release button that cannot be pressed with your finger,
because the button itself has a guard that requires you to use something, like a ballpoint pen, or the tip of a bullet, to press it.
Just like the reset buttons on some electronics. They claim that
detaching a magazine with a bullet button is “quick”, but it is
not. If they ban the “Bullet Button”, you would literally
need to disassemble the firearm after 10 rounds. Keep in mind that
according to the FBI, the rifles targeted by these laws account for
less than 2% of total firearm crimes in the US. They account for even a smaller percentage of deaths.
Senate Bill 53
Introduced by state Senator Kevin de Leon, requires ammunition
purchasers in California to obtain an ammunition purchase permit
first by passing a full and complete background investigation,
registration and thumb printing for all ammunition sales and bans the
internet/mail order purchase of all ammunition.
---This one sounds reasonable,
but this bill is also very extremist. If every ammunition sale were
to be registered in a database, then they have the option to enforce other
bills that have failed to pass before. Like for example, the bill
that limits how many rounds of ammunition you can legally store in
your property. In my opinion this is beyond intrusive. But how would
they enforce this? Well it just so happens that recently in DC, they
have also proposed a federal bill that allows police to search the
homes of REGISTERED gun owners, without a warrant. I
doubt this one will pass, but it shows intentions more than
anything.
Senate Bill 108
Introduced by Senator Yee, requires a person who is 18 years of age
or older, who owns, leases, rents, or is other legal occupant of a
residence to store a firearm that he or she owns or has lawful
possession of locked in a container or otherwise be disassembled each
time the person leaves his or her property.
---This one here is reasonable in my opinion.
There is others that I have yet to
find in government websites but want to mention:
*Banning of magazines that have more
than 10 rounds, even if they are legal because of
grandfathering. Grandfathered magazines would be deemed illegal.
*Background check and tax(to pay for the process) for every
ammunition purchase, as well as a nice fingerprinting.
*The “gun show loophole” has been
said to be one of the biggest causes of this “gun crime wave”
by many uniformed liberals. According to FBI statistics, it has steadily been going down since
20+ years ago. They say that the “loophole” allows people to
buy firearms without a background check. But in reality that is
partially true. In any gun show, there is Federally Licensed
Dealers(FFL) that sell firearms and they are required by law to
conduct a background check, and fill out all forms. So where is this
loophole? It is in private transactions. If a normal citizen with no
F.F.L. wants to sell a firearm privately like from father to son, which
he can, under current law, with no required check and paperwork (because there is no way to enforce it, unless there is a
complete registry) then he cannot without instantly becoming a felon by giving a shotgun to his 19 year old son. I don't know how you people feel about
registering, but history shows us registering makes it too easy to
unreasonably search homes without a warrant, too easy to confiscate
certain types of firearms, too easy to criminalize private transfers.
Registering has always led to this, and I have found no exceptions
thus far.( video: “History of Gun Control”- can be found on
youtube)
* There is also the “Universal”
Background Check system they plan to impose, but you should note what
Obama's own advisory have published documents where they state that
banning would prove ineffective without complete registering, which
is a major invasion of our right to privacy, which we have seen
published recently in New York.. They also say that banning would not work
without “mandatory gun buyback” also know as: compensated
confiscation. There already is a background check system that is very
thorough, down to mental illness history, and standard for the whole
country. What makes this new system so "Universal" is the complete
Registration that would follow. Senator Chuck Schumer on Jan. 30th
claimed there would be no registry in this bill for “Universal”
background checks, and that registration will continue to be deemed
illegal by court of law, as it has been before. But in Feb. 12th , he clearly said he proposed: “some of the proposals, gun
trafficking, and the one that I've been pushing, which is, uh,
universal registration”
Did I read hear that right? Universal Registration. I encourage you to look up if this
“Universal” background checks have this registration requirement to be effective. Here in CA, there is already a registration requirement, and since that is in place, they are not satisfied, and are pushing for all of this other garbage legislation that only erodes our rights.
AltPerspect_Dissent
No comments:
Post a Comment